The Ohio 8 Coalition To Offer Insight On School Reopening & Related Critical Policy Priorities To Ensure Success For Students And Staff

Ohio K-12 traditional public schools are experiencing unprecedented times. State and Federal policy priorities and decisions are and will continue to have significant financial and operational impacts on students, teachers, staff, and communities. The Ohio 8 Coalition will walk you through several critical issues outlined below:

  • Distribution of federal CARES Act Title I funds (Eric Gordon)
  • CARES Act Discretionary funds for Broadband (Eric Gordon)
  • Statewide working group curriculum for ELA (Dr. Lolli & David James)
  • Leveraging State of Ohio procurement capacity for Personal ProtectiveEquipment PPE (Kevin Dalton & Julie Sellers)
  • Perspective on volume of PPE for daily school demands (David James)


Akron, OH (June 22, 2020)  @ 11:30am 1:00pm —Register via ZOOM Video link below. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing access credentials


The Ohio 8 is a strategic alliance composed of the superintendents and teacher union presidents from Ohio’s eight urban school districts – Akron, Canton, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Toledo and Youngstown. The Ohio 8 Coalition’s mission is to work with policy makers to improve academic performance, increase graduation rates and close the achievement gap for urban children throughout Ohio. The Coalition carries out its mission by working closely with legislators, educators, parents, labor and community officials. The Coalition brings a shared administrator-teacher voice to help shape state education policy.

Without ongoing policy discussion and immediate action, preparing for and conducting a successful school opening, ensuring a safe learning and teaching environment for students and staff, and being planful for financial impact of COVID-19 and State budget cuts, there will be an unprecedented challenge for K-12 school districts this the 2020-21 school year and beyond.

The Ohio 8 Coalition Co-Chairs and Key Leadership Team Members:

Eric Gordon, CEO, Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Ohio 8 Co-Chair Julie Sellers, President, Cincinnati Federation of Teachers, Ohio 8 Co-Chair Dr. Elizabeth J. Lolli, Superintendent, Dayton Public Schools
Kevin Dalton, President, Toledo Federation of Teachers
David James, Superintendent, Akron Public Schools

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.